Sewaholic Thurlow Shorts

Designer: Sewaholic Pattern: Thurlow Shorts
Type of fabric: Chambray & Liberty Print cotton
Amount of fabric used: Sorry never made these notes when I first started sewing
Notions I used: Thread, 1x Buttons (2cm), zip (10cm), 1 x hook & eye, fusible interfacing

My measurements:

Bust: N/A Waist: 30.7 ” / 78cm Hips: 42.5″ / 108cm (widest part)

Date: Jan 2016

photogrid_1452709958919 20160802_180351

I was looking forward and a bit nervous about making this pattern as it was only my 2nd garment (a bit out of my depth) but what did I have to lose?

I chose this pattern because they are designed for pear shaped ladies.

I made this pattern in my 10 week course again with my tutor. We started off by taking my measurements and looking at the patterns body measurements, to work out which size I needed to trace (yeah I don’t cut into my patterns 🙂 ) we decided on a size 14. I traced the pattern and made a toile but it was HUGE!! They needed a lot of alterations so I traced and made a size 10 but it still had a lot of alterations that seemed to misshape the shorts so you guessed it, I was then tracing and making a size 8, finally they fitted a lot better still needed a few alterations but not much.

20160210_195649 img_20160124_195801

I was confused and concerned (how I would cope with the “fitting” of my future garments on my own) so I wanted to understand why we started at a size 14 but ended up at an 8, so I looked into the difference between body measurements and finished garment measurements.

My findings
Body measurements
: are your body measurements
Finished garment measurements: are the sizes of the garment once it’s sewn up; it includes the ‘ease’ (room to move in garment). This helps so you can decide on if you would like loose or tighter fitting garment.

This website explains this in more detail:
https://www.craftsy.com/blog/2014/05/finished-garment-measurements/

It took a while to make this from start to finish but I am glad I took the plunge, they were perfect for holiday. I would recommend this pattern and would like to make more for summer and a couple for winter, woollen shorts with tights. 🙂

Notes for next time: Belt loops too big cut at 7cm.

photogrid_1483287134334

 I learnt a lot from this pattern:
* Waistbands
* Slash front pockets
* Welt pockets
* Fly-front zip
* Belt loops

 

Sorry I didn’t take a picture of the finished results 😦

xx

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment